Strange Days Short Story Reflection

Well, I’m rather bored of working on the archiving of Sewn Together for right now, the progress of which can be found here. I didn’t really expect to be putting so much information onto that page. So, I think, in an attempt to bring greater order to that ungodly chaos I’m going to split up the sections about the characters and their affiliations onto their own pages. We’ll see how it ends up, but if it’s half of what I think it’s going to look like, it’s going to need some organization overhauling. But, IN THE MEANTIME, I want to bring up my own old post from a few days ago entitled, Strange Days Short Story and Update. That strange little short story is quickly becoming one of my favourites and it went over pretty ding-dong well during our class critique. Now, why is this important? 

IT ISN’T.

Objectively speaking. To ME, though, a person obsessed with writing, I feel it right to share with you my reflections on the criticisms, praises, etc. of Strange Days.

I want to bring particular attention to this point. I read a quote… somewhere about how a man could never write a female character half as well as any female could write a male character. Well, I’d like to say that I’m interested in delving into strong female characters, but I can’t entirely do that. That’s because I don’t ever really think of “male” and “female” characters as any different. In fact, I write a female character the same as a male, the only difference between what write between the two different characters is entirely dependent on, well, their characters. Gender, aside from biological anatomy, never really factored into my writing. I didn’t really know if this was a problem or a good sign. I still can’t definitely say, this was just one instance, but during the critique, the characters of the Poet and the Inventor were described as “strong women.”

Naturally, this was a huge booster to me and lets me re-examine the doubts I have about my writing inside of gender. As it turns out, my spearheading work, Fancy Lads, uses third-person-serial POV and the first book, Promenade, has four female and two/three male perspectives. I don’t know why I find that so odd, but I suppose it has something to do with the idea that certain stories and certain character roles lend themselves to certain genders.

Well, BUNK TO THAT I SAY.

As I will prattle on in your ears later (until they bleed, I assure you), Fancy Lads is my pride and joy and I have devoted god-knows how many hundreds of hours to working on it. But, suffice to say, women in that story and in virtually every story I (or Alec and I) have written post-Fancy Lads (so, around 2010 when it was first conceived)  prominently feature female characters in roles of leadership, power, and prestiege, sometimes even above their male counterparts. For some reason that simply feels right to me. Why should gender matter at all?

WHY I NOISILY ASK YOU?!

No seriously, I don’t know at all. It seems like an alien concept to me.

Well, as I write this, a few days after I started this post, I find that most of the criticism levied against Strange Days have been looked at. I suppose what would be more economical is posting a revised version of the story and then reflecting on what all came of the changes and criticisms.

Hmm, well this is an anticlimactic end to this post which probably promised to be a lot more. And I suppose I could have just deleted the parts of it that are no longer relevant… BUT THAT WOULD BE DISINGENUOUS. Which is something I absolutely cannot abide. Still working on that Sewn Together section, too! I swear I’ll have it and at least part of Dauntless done before the end of the month!

Oh and I should probably be posting my NaNoWriMo progress shouldn’t it…?

Uh… GREATER THAN TWELVE WORDS. There, right on schedule.

-END TRANSMISSION. GOOD MORNING, GOOD AFTERNOON, GOOD NIGHT-

Leave a Reply

