Friday Fictioneers: The Necromancer

Below is my Friday Fictioneers entry. I do hope I’m doing this right, I only heard of this whole blog community hubbub today. So yeah, here’s the Friday Fictioneers. The goal is to write a story inspired by a picture (or music or other media) using 100 words or less. They should totally make a band with a name like that. They could write songs about fiction and stuff and about how Emily Dickinson is a total hack. Actually, that last part is just my 1.25 cents.

 

Image copyright to Kelly Sands

Genre: Fiction

Word Count: 100

 

“I can do it,” I told Timmy. “If they can do it in the movies, then so can I.” Timmy didn’t say anything. Even before he died, he never said a whole lot. “And it’s illegal to lie in movies. I heard that on the playground today.”

The metal flagpole was heavy, but I managed to stand it up in the dirt. I attached the wires with tape, running them from the pole to Timmy’s body. Frankenstein brought back a whole person with lighting. I knew could bring back my goldfish.

The sky shook. I ran inside, smiling and impatient.

 

 


 

You know, I should have titled this Young Frankenstein. But then Gene Wilder might break down my door and beat me to death with his Willy Wonka cane.

 

Good luck, you brave writer folk!

END TRANSMISSION.

10 comments on “Friday Fictioneers: The Necromancer

  1. Great work – a complete and entertaining story in a hundred words; impressive stuff. I especially liked the comment about Timmy’s lack of vocabulary, given what we learned about him 🙂

  2. camgal says:

    Aww so cute and haha I wouldn’t have guessed that Timmy was a fish 🙂

  3. Loved this, especially the sad part of Timmy the goldfish. And welcome to this crazy band. 🙂

  4. Young goldfishenstein. Swim this way.
    I love it.
    Better wires to a pole than a kite. young Ben Frankenstein told me.

    Randystein

  5. Marshall, Welcome to Friday Fictioneers! Good, well-written, and humorous story. That sounds just like something a child might try. How sweet that he totally believed that movies didn’t lie. Experiences like that are hard, but part of growning up. Well done. 🙂 —Susan

  6. Dear Marshall,

    Welcome to Friday Fictioneers. I feel it’s only fair to warn you that we’re a bit like The Hotel California. You may check out anytime you like but you can never leave. Bwahahahaha.

    Love the twist at the end. Here I’m imagining a child and it’s a goldfish. Might’ve worked better in water…just saying.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  7. Blake says:

    I especially love the ending of this – the absolute faith of childhood 🙂

  8. […] think it’s funny that looking at my oldest Friday Fictioneers and comparing it to the ones nowadays, my levels of dialogue seem to have heavily shifted towards […]

  9. […] I think my most recent entries into the flash fiction department (boy do I really have to update those two pages with the more recent stuff) are showing a kind of Renaissance in my work, returning me back to my roots of childhood adventure and “what-if” style reflections. Maybe because looking back we have the lens of nostalgia and wonderment. Well, it’s that or I just like sticking incompetent people (read, “children”) into very complicated and odd situations like, oh say, trying to resurrect a dead pet. […]

  10. […] it up then. But on the other hand, Light Than Air has some of that young scientific adventure that The Necromancer (my first Friday Fictioneers) […]

Leave a Reply

