Friday Fictioneers: A Moment’s Peace

 

Here’s another crack of mine at the Friday Fictioneers challenge. This one was a bit bumpier than the last one I wish I just had 5-10 more words, but them’s the breaks I guess.

Rules were the same as last time- we get a picture and have to write about it with 100 words or less. You write, you read, some poor person draws a lottery ticket and is stoned to death. It’s a good time for all!

 


 

copyright-adam-ickes

Copyright to Adam Ickes

 

Genre: Supernatural Fiction

Word Count: 100

 

It’s back. This time it’s in my work cubicle.

I put a box in front of it so it can’t stare at me.

Invoices, the box says.

More like, voices in my head.

“I’m sorry,” I say to it. “But at least you were delicious.”

It doesn’t seem happy with that. I think. It’s hard to tell.

Suddenly, a thought hits me. If it’s here at work, it’s not where it’s usually haunting me- back home. I run to tell my boss that my stomach is upset so I can take the day off and maybe get a moment’s peace.

 

 

 

 


 

 

Good luck, you brave writer folk!

END TRANSMISSION.

7 comments on “Friday Fictioneers: A Moment’s Peace

  1. Sandra says:

    I’d stake my life on it that the spectre will simply follow him home. Guilt is like that. 🙂

  2. camgal says:

    Creepy vibes, loving it 🙂

  3. Michael B. Fishman says:

    I would have liked those extra 5-10 words too to find out if that delicious delusion had followed him home! Good story.

  4. Rest well. The next day at work is going to be h**l. Nicely done.

  5. Dear Michael,

    You’ve given new meaning to a meal coming back to haunt you. Good one.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

  6. Michael, That’s one busy ghost. That guy needs to get his mind off the meal. Humorous and well written. 🙂 —Susan

Leave a Reply

