Friday Fictioneers: The Battle of Dinnerplate 6

 

Once again I find myself throwing in my 1.28 (roughly converted from Septims) cents into the Friday Fictioneers pot. I was able to cook (ha ha food pun) up this story much more quickly than my last one and I’m about as unsure as I was last time, too. It’s not that I dislike this piece but maybe after I read it a few times more I’ll warm to it.

Well anyway, have fun~

 


 

 

Copyright: Marie Gail Stratford

Copyright: Marie Gail Stratford

Genre: Science Fiction/Realistic Fiction

Word Count: 100

 

“You will pay for the Thursday Massacre of planet Dinnerplate 5, four-pronged butcher!” Captain Peapod cried.

“That was only the beginning,” King Fork bellowed. “Soon I will destroy all of your friends and even your creator, Green Giant!”

With that, chaos is all that the stark white fields of Dinnerplate 6 know.

But, as quickly as the battle started, it ended.

“Don’t play with your food, dear,” mom says.

 I guess there can be a temporary ceasefire, I think as I shovel down some peas. As per usual, I cringe.

 I’d rather they just kill each other instead of me.

 

Picture copyright: Wijnand Loven

This extremely fitting picture copyright of: Wijnand Loven

 

 


 

 

I love that I was able to find that peas picture with just a simple Google search for the words “fork peas.” It fits pretty ding-darn well, I think.

 

Also, I’m starting to notice that I write a lot about childhood innocence and imagination. I have no problem with this!

 

Good luck, you brave writer folk!

END TRANSMISSION.

 

17 comments on “Friday Fictioneers: The Battle of Dinnerplate 6

  1. dmmacilroy says:

    This was a grand piece of childhood imagination from an adult. I have been to that Universe… Well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  2. Ellespeth says:

    🙂 “Don’t play with your food, dear,” mom says…..hahaha! Nicely written and so hilarious.
    Love the peas!
    Ellespeth

  3. Wow, Michael, I’m not sure where that came from, but I’m still chuckling. I was crazy about cooked peas for quite a time when young, then must have OD’d on them and don’t really care for them to this day. I can see a child doing and thinking this.

    janet

  4. Sarah says:

    This is a delight to read! It reminds me of Calvin’s colorful imagination from Calvin and Hobbes. Loved it!

  5. Very fun. The imagination of a child curtailed by MOM.

  6. MrBinks says:

    I got the imagination of the child straight away, and was really pleased when the reveal showed me to be right (it’s a good feeling, smugness).

    Nicely written, with a great little twist at the end.

  7. […] Friday fictioneers, Skywatch Friday, Look Up Look Down, […]

  8. Dear Michael,

    If you had any doubts, let me dispel them. You left me laughing. You’ve captured the creative mind of a child who doesn’t like peas. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  9. Indira says:

    Loved this, reminded me of Calvin.

  10. Michael, I was another reader who was laughing out loud. That was hilarious. XD I love the imagination of children. The photo was great and fit perfectly. 😀 —Susan

  11. So imaginative and funny, great story.

  12. Michael B. Fishman says:

    A sweet story, I liked this one, taking place in the kid’s imagination as it did, a lot.

  13. […] to sigh and say something along the lines of, “Ho hum I wish I could write something like Battle of Dinnerplate 6 again” but this time, I actually have something useful to say. The new and independent […]

Leave a Reply

