Friday Fictioneers: Satan’s Lunch Bell

 

Well, I’ve returned from a family vacation up in Colorado. I would go more into depth about, but does this look like, BOOKFACE? I don’t think so. This is the place for WRITING. And random capitalization of words. Fragments, too. Anyway, I was happy to see that this Friday Fictioneer’s picture was that of a plane wing. Considering that I had to wake up at 1:30 (Colorado time, that is) to catch a disgustingly early flight, I decided to channel some of my experiences into this piece. It’s quick and ramshackle, but oh well. That may or may not be what flash fiction is all about, anyway.

 

Have fun~

 


 

 

Copyright: Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Copyright: Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Genre: Realistic Fiction

Word Count: 10

The flight was beautiful. A thick bearnaise sauce over chicken parmesan for dinner was the perfect complement to the beautiful clouds and cityscape outside the window. The business trip was over and I was ready for home.
I woke from my dream with a start when I heard the airline notification jingle. It sounded like Satan’s lunch bell.
“We apologize for the continued delay,” came the annoyed-sounding voice, “but we are still waiting to taxi onto the runway. We should be taking off in about… twenty more minutes.”
I swear I remembered her saying “twenty more minutes” half an hour ago.

 

 

 

 


 

 

If I had it my way, I would have included much more insomnia and irritability into the story if it was going to truly reflect my escapades from earlier today. That’s a weird thought- not even 24 hours ago I was halfway across the United States and kicking myself because I set my alarm an hour too early because my phone didn’t friggin’ convert to Colorado time.

*exasperated sigh*

 

But anyway,

Good luck, you brave writer folk!

END TRANSMISSION.

 

 

6 comments on “Friday Fictioneers: Satan’s Lunch Bell

  1. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Michael,

    This may be a case of “Spellcheck is Not Your Friend’, or not. In either case the word you’re looking for is ‘complement’, not otherwise, unless, of course, that you spelled it that way on purpose.

    Good story about sweet dreams and waking nightmares of flight.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • Yup, it seems like it was a mixture of “spellcheck is not my friend” and “lack of sleep is not good for you.” Thanks for catching that, it’s all changed and correct now.

  2. Dear Marshal,

    Dinner sounds wonderful. What airline? All I got on my last flight was peanuts.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

  3. Truly a dream if being served A thick bearnaise sauce over chicken parmesan. Been there (not the chicken part) done that (the waiting on the tarmac part.)

  4. Michael, Humorous and well-written story. I’ve never had a flight that couldn’t take off. My last flight couldn’t land. When it finally landed, it was raining heavily,and everyone’s bags were getting soaked. I was so glad I had an old hard suitcase. Well done. 🙂 —Susan

Leave a Reply

