Friday Fictioneers: Fun

 

Gee, with a name like that, you just know this story is going to be a rip-snorting good time. Okay, so last week for me was insane, having read about 600 pages in the space of a few days and prepared for a small acting exam. But anyway, I’ve been keeping up with writing and have actually made some really cool things that I want to show on here soon enough. But I’m going to keep myself from doing so until I FINISH LOREQUEST GOSHDARNIT.

But after that, I’ll start uploading some of my other work here. Because it’s kind of cool. I think.

 

Anyway, here’s my rather sober piece about two guys on a camping trip. Oh, this is for Friday Fictioneers, by the by.

 

I’m in a sober mood. So this is what you get!

 

Have fun~ (?)

 


 

 

 

Copyright – Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Image Copyright – Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

 

Genre: Realistic Fiction

Word Count: 101

 

“When you told me this camping trip was going to be fun…”

“I meant it,” I said.

I shuffled across the log and put my arm around him.

It was muggy and we were already sweating. I took my arm off of him. Bug spray made a disgusting slurry with campfire smoke. I scooched away and tried to clear the air.

“It’s good to be away from people,” I said. “At least.”

For a moment, nothing. Then he nodded. Slowly.

He yawned. It was barely nine at night.

“Yeah,” he said. “People.” He got up from the log and walked away.

 

 

 


 

 

Well, that’s it. Go away, now. Go home. Unless you are home already. Then go to somebody else’s home. Don’t even knock on the door. Just walk right in and start eating their dinner. Sit on their table as they eat. Stare at them in the eyes as you do so. Never take advice from me.

 

 

Good luck, you brave writer folk!

 

END TRANSMISSION.

6 comments on “Friday Fictioneers: Fun

  1. kirizar says:

    Nice and ambiguous. There is a sort of tension in how they are responding to each other. Did you mean to imply his last phrase ‘people’ was actually a jibe at the woman he was with? That’s how I read it anyway.

  2. Amy Reese says:

    Uh oh. I predict problems ahead for this duo! Sometimes camping is not all it’s cracked up to be.

  3. I like your young man’s funny sense of ironic humor, or annoyance, when he says, “People”
    And I like your protagonist’s sense of smell and timing and sensitivity…
    ha.
    fun piece. Randy

  4. Nan Falkner says:

    Good story – but I did scamper on home and then I came back to tell you – I like it! Nan 🙂

  5. Michael, Apparently not a very romantic venue. Maybe he’s just tired. Camping is work. Well written. 🙂 —Susan

Leave a Reply

