Five Sentence Story: July Sun/Inner Darkness

 

Judge John Hodgman is stealing away my attention and has been doing so for the last twenty minutes or so. I’ve even had these two stories done for about that amount of time. What am I doing with my life/time?! I’ll tell you what I’m going to do- I’m going to continue doing what I’m doing and chunk out (“avuncular,” that’s a word I just heard from Hodgman. I have no idea what that means, but it sounds great! I’ll chalk that up there with “fecundity” as silly words that mean ultimately nothing) this awkwardly wordy introduction. Well, this kind of introduction is what I usually blurt out at you poor internet people. So I guess nothing has changed. Except now this intro involves Hodgman. So it’s superior.

Anyway YES, to finally get to the actual opening point, here’s another stab at the Five Sentence Story sha-bang. I felt indecisive with this one, so I decided to include both instead of just one or the other. This is also after me reading Harrison Bergeron for the first time, so dystopia is on my mind.

 

So yes, on with the fun.

 

Have fun~

 


 

 

Word of Inspiration: Darkness

Word Count: 101

Genre: Science Fiction

Title: July Sun

 

 

“It’s July,” Adam remembered, “and July is usually hot and sunny, right?”

“You know it is, son, it’s in your school books,” Judy said.

“But they never describe what sun-iness and hot-iness feels like in the books.”

The ceiling of the world, the great grey dome, spanned Adam’s vision and imagination for what it was worth- it must have been so much more interesting when there was the sun was the only light instead of strips of bulbs and when something other than “mild” climate existed.

“Sunlight gives you cancer,” Judy scolded, “and heat makes you sweat- things are pleasant now.”

 

***

Word of Inspiration: Darkness

Word Count: 86

Genre: Realistic Fiction

Title: Inner Darkness

 

“Do you know where the darkness of the human soul lurks, children?” the stupid nun squawked.

“In the soul,” the class belched back.

“That’s where it is,” the nun nodded, like one of those bird toy things that dips into water (whatever those are called) and then comes back up.

Or, it’s approximately 20.257 millimeters into the chest; there’s no light all the way in the human chest cavity.

“I saw your eyes wandering young man,” she hissed at me, “keep your mind where it belongs.”

 

 

 


 

 

Yup, my indecisiveness once again won me the day as I produced more than I bargained for! Quality will come later, dear readers/visitors/home intruders or Peeping Toms looking over my shoulder. I assure you. I assure you that I will probably have a better eye for revision and quality eventually.

Oh, who am I kidding? I have novels to write and HODGMAN to listen to! Ain’t nobody got time for that!

 

 

Good luck, you brave writer folk!

 

END TRANSMISSION.

 

One comment on “Five Sentence Story: July Sun/Inner Darkness

  1. I liked both stories. The first had “Brave New World” or “1984” quality to me. The second reminded me of my Catholic School Days – when grabbed with word association like “nun” I couldn’t escape it.

Leave a Reply

