Friday Fictioneers: Metal and Vinyl

 

Well, this Friday Fictioneers arrived much less painfully than the last one. So at least there’s that solace I can have as I share this one with all of you. On the other hand, I’ve been working and writing and reading and doing all other number of ungodly things pretty much nonstop and neglecting various other human interactions that I’d rather not neglect. Buuuut I have stuff to do. Like post this Friday Fictioneers. Hooray! Priorities!

 

Have fun~

 


 

 

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

 

Title: Metal and Vinyl

Genre: Realistic Fiction

Word Count: 112

 

I have some time, I realize. The school bus won’t be dragging me back to high school for a few more minutes. I slip away from the sounds of the chugging street and stare into the neighbor’s window.

There it is. A Nirvana of plated metal and vinyl. Even when it’s quiet, I can hear the music. It’s the place where I go in my daydreams in math class. In every class.

I pull away from the window, my hands leaving prints on the glass. Someday, I think as I hear the bus cough its way down the road to the street corner. Someday I’ll have a musical laboratory just like that.

 

 

 


 

 

I think my constant faffing with Five Sentence Fiction is starting to change how I write these. Namely, I’ve been echewing dialogue for more emotionally and sentimental-filled sweeping generalizations about life. It’s either that or whenever I start belting out the dialogue I end up talking about children enjoying their lives and messing around with seemingly innocent things. And I just can’t have all that FUN, now can I?!

No, I probably can.

 

 

Good luck, you braver writer folk!

 

END TRANSMISSION.

 

 

 

4 comments on “Friday Fictioneers: Metal and Vinyl

  1. storydivamg says:

    Dear Michael,
    Good story. I particularly like “music laboratory.”
    All my best,
    Marie Gail

  2. It’s good to have a window to look into a dream – although maybe not the neighbor’s.

    (I slip away from the sounds of the chugging street sounds Two “sounds” in the same sentence is a bit much : – ) )

  3. Sarah Ann says:

    A piece of hope and dreams. 🙂

Leave a Reply

