Friday Fictioneers (and M.N.P.): Digestible

 

M.S.P.- Noun. An acronym meaning, “Miniature Narrative Project.”

Elaboration- A collaboration of Friday Fictioneers, Five-Sentence Fictions, and Featured Fiction during the month of December (and November the 30th, apparently) in an attempt to make a cohesive miniature narrative.

Alternative Definition- Noun. An overly-complicated way of compensating for neglecting NaNoWriMo and attempting to find structure and order in a collection of works that have nothing to do with one another.

Alternative (alternative) Definition- Noun. A FINE CHALLENGE.

 

This Friday Fictioneers is going to be the first entry into the M.N.P., as per the title.

Yes, I am going to try to make this “a thing” for myself. I wonder how it will go! Stay tuned and find out, next time on Dragonball Z!

 

But, for now,

Have fun~

 


 

 

Image Copyright: Randie Mazie

Image Copyright: Randie Mazie

 

Title: Digestible

Genre: Realistic/Surrealist Fiction

Word Count: 100

 

Usual day in the library. Quiet. Just sounds of munching and chewing. I sit down with Tom Sawyer. I turn to the first page. Acknowledgements. I keep going. No knowledge there (the name is deceptive).

Flipping, flipping.

There it is. The first chapter.

I rip a chunk out of the book with my teeth. First chapters always taste the same- it’s always better on the first bite. I look around. Yup, a man with Ulysses. A woman with Infinite Jest.

I can feel the knowledge pouring into me with every bite…

Knowledge is so much easier to digest this way.

 

The founding scientific philosophy of this brave new world. (Image Copyright: Babology.com)

The founding scientific philosophy of this brave new world.
(Image Copyright: Babology.com)

 

 


 

 

I admit, I am excited about this whole self-imposed challenge at cohesion thing. I might call the final products “invasion of the book-eaters.” And then I’ll make a bad 50’s-esque B-movie out of it. Which has always been a secret dream of mine. It’s so secret it doesn’t even exist.

Speaking of bad B-movies, has anybody seen my movie Zombie Night?

I’m not going to link to it because I respect you all as human beings. But just know that it’s out there, lurking.  It and The Room are quietly debating on how best to overturn cinema society as we know it. We must all prepare for that day, if such a thing was even possible.

 

 

Good luck, you brave writer folk!

 

END TRANSMISSION.

 

14 comments on “Friday Fictioneers (and M.N.P.): Digestible

  1. Dear Marshall,

    I’ve heard of an insatiable hunger for knowledge but your MC takes it to an extreme. I’m not sure how that’s going to work for him. 😉

    shalom,

    Rochelle

  2. Now that is interesting way to realize the metaphor of hunger for knowledge, perhaps inserting a chip with downloaded info would be easier to digest:)

  3. It could work! Will your MC get indigestion at some point – need to eat some medical journals? Good luck with the project.

    • I don’t know, but that is a fantastic idea. It would only make sense for a world like this where one gains knowledge by devouring books (that’s the intended effect, anyway), that if one wanted to learn about medicine… Yup, that’s pretty brilliant.

  4. wildbilbo says:

    ‘Acknowledgements – no knowledge there’ – this really tickles me. And given your gastronomical take on the subject, I think it reflects on the irony inherent in ‘appetisers’ – eating something to stimulate the appetite appears ridiculous (doesn’t stop me eating them though).

    Great work.
    KT

  5. Nan Falkner says:

    Do you need condiments to swallow the pages? Maybe just salt & pepper. This is a very interesting concept so I bet the cookbooks would be snarfed up first! Great tale! You are funny! and, Clever! Nan 🙂

  6. mscwhite says:

    I see, from the image, that you were inspired by ‘The Incredible Book Eating Boy’. Your story is a great take on the library prompt and the Jeffers picture book.

    • I’ve never actually heard of that book before, as it turns out. I just Google searched for “Eating books” and took the most strangely academic-looking one I could find. Maybe the book’s worth a read now, though.

  7. rgayer55 says:

    I’m with Nan. Cookbooks sound delicious.

  8. storydivamg says:

    This sounds like a bit more work than learning by sleeping on top of one’s textbooks. Still, if it works . . . Cute story.

    All my best
    Marie Gail

Leave a Reply

