Friday Fictioneers (and M.N.P. Part 4): Author’s End

 

Previous Entry: Part 3 M.N.P.

Previous(er) Entry: Part 2 M.N.P.

Previous(est) Entry: Part 1 M.N.P.

 

Well my friends, acquaintences, and mortal enemies, I believe we have fully reached that point in this little narrative adventure where things are actually starting to move in a plot-like motion. I think I mentioned that last time too. But what do you honestly expect from me, consistency? No, no, no, you silly man, woman, or applicable third alien gender. That would just be ludicrous. Maybe when the next Five Sentence Fiction or Featured Fiction swings around, I can start moving these little plot whispers in motion. But until then, you all get a big bowl of vague soup!

I would tell you what it tastes like but I can’t quite place it. Naturally.

 

Have fun~

 


 

 

Photo Copyright: Sandra-Crook

Photo Copyright: Sandra-Crook

 

Title: Author’s End

Genre: Realistic/Surrealist Fiction

Word Count: 100

 

 

Ms. Bessmore, the most famous murder-mystery author in the world*, refused to release her newest book. She claimed, “[she] will not have [her] writing used as fuel for the growing discord between page-burners and book-muncher.”

But Bessmore wasn’t quick enough to avoid ironic death thrown at her from the audience. One of her own books smote her in the temple. She crumpled to the ground and, How I Murdered My Once-Hero, fell next to her

Her novels ended up floating down the river in tragic heaps. They slowly clogged the river, too scorned to eat and too wet to burn.

____________

*This statistic courtesy of the Bureau for Authorial Greatness and Success. It was composed eight months prior to Bessmore’s death and, upon completion, was swiftly devoured by its writer to preserve its knowledge forever.

 

An artist eventually rendered the fate of Bessmore's books. She was forced to publish it anonymously, however out of fear. The work was entitled, "Irony and the One Bizarre Thing We Have in Common." Image copyright: Random House

An artist eventually rendered the fate of Bessmore’s books. She was forced to publish it anonymously, however out of fear. The work was entitled, “Irony and the One Bizarre Thing We Have in Common.”
Image copyright: Random House

 

 


 

 

You could tell me that I cheated by adding that footnote but you could ALSO say I’ve cheated every time by adding those second pictures and the blurbs about them!

… Well, you probably wouldn’t be wrong. I just wanted to let you know your options when accusing me of cheating!

Maybe to make it up to everybody I should write my next entry in hilariously frustrating fragments and just say, “a book-muncher did it!”

Nah, I wouldn’t have the stomach for it.

*rimshot*

 

 

Good luck, you brave writer folk!

 

END TRANSMISSION.

 

7 comments on “Friday Fictioneers (and M.N.P. Part 4): Author’s End

  1. That’s a terrible fate for both writer and the books. Does she not have a fictional detective she can call on for help. And a priest for death-bed confession (that grocer’s apostrophe she insisted on in her first novel)?

Leave a Reply

