Friday Fictioneers (and M.N.P. Part 7): A Simpler Time

 

Previous Entry: Part 6 M.N.P.

Previous(er) Entry: Part 5 M.N.P.

(Even more) Previous Entry: Part 4 M.N.P.

(Even still more) Previous Entry: Part 3 M.N.P.

(Even still, still more) Previous Entry: Part 2 M.N.P.

Previous(est) Entry: Part 1 M.N.P.

 

Boy, I’m really cutting this one close, aren’t I? I barely even made the weekly deadline for this one. I mean, I have a looooong list of things I could very probably blame for distracting me. All of which I have no shame in. Because now, oh NOW, I am making today, December the 30th, a double-publishing extravaganza! It’s going to be the greatest double-feature since My Neighbor Totoro came right after Grave of the Fireflies! Meaning, the two will be totally tonally different and give you intense emotional whiplash. I only do it because I love you! And I’m bad at working around all of my distractions and other writings. Oh well, it’s almost the finale!

 

Have fun~

 


 

 

Image Copyright: Bjorn Rudberg

Image Copyright: Bjorn Rudberg

 

Title: A Simpler Time

Genre: Realistic/Surrealist Fiction

Word Count: 100

 

Things would go back to a simpler time after tonight. Blackstone’s death would force the two groups further apart. Then, like the inevitable death of the universe, both would come colliding back together. And then nothing. Silence. Somn knew what he was talking about. He had eaten an Undergrad’s worth of physics textbooks. He particularly enjoyed the sections about projectiles.

Somn sat in a dark room filled with intellectuals who growled like idle motors and grumbled like people waiting in line at the store. Waiting. The bane of the intelligent. The wise, however, never waited. Their thoughts stretched, meditated, prepared.

 

 

Somn was reported to have kept this photograph framed in his home on a nightstand. When asked about it he claimed it was, "A vision of a better future."  Image copyright: pixdaus.com

Somn was reported to have kept this photograph framed in his home on a nightstand. When asked about it he claimed it was, “A vision of a better future.”
Image copyright: pixdaus.com

 

 

 


 

 

If you thought the weird names would stop after this, you’re sorely mistaken! Somn is just the first of many absurd names that only seems to fit this absurd little world. Also, expect that final short story entry very soon! IT will be marginally above-average, I can assure you! Oh and I should wish you all a happy new year. I SHOULD. But will I?

You’ll have to hold onto your trousers and wait to find out!

 

 

Good luck, you brave writer folk!

 

END TRANSMISSION.

 

 

3 comments on “Friday Fictioneers (and M.N.P. Part 7): A Simpler Time

Leave a Reply

