Friday Fictioneers Fiction: Remembering History

 

So, this was a weird one certainly. Both this and Five Sentence Fiction felt like giving me prompts about renewal and new beginnings. So naturally, I just had to write about the bitter ending of things. And that’s weird for me! I’m usually so upbeat, talking about such lovely subjects as debilitating illness, anxiety, and crippling insanity. But death? Please, I have my standards!

And so what if they’re low?

Anyway, I think it’s good to be a little broken away from my M.N.P. nonsense. A reflection will be coming for that one soon enough. When I get around to it.

So, never.

 

Have fun~

 


 

 

Image Copyright: Jean L. Hays

Image Copyright: Jean L. Hays

 

Title: Remembering History

Genre: Realistic Fiction

Word Count: 100

 

Unthink what the word means to you, “historic,” and begin anew at a time before our own. After all, just because it’s historic means that it’s worth remembering.

1985, a triple homicide, three friends, just outside of Oklahoma City. Culprit still at large. No obvious motivation. Weapon used: golf club. All three were members of a local country club and were crack-shots with 9-irons.

Then, in 1991, a father, elated with the birth of his son, drove to his Chicago home feeling warm and happy. He died cold and afraid. The mother told the son she had a divorce instead.

 

 

 


 

 

Just so yous knows, neither of those events mentioned are real. At least, not as far as I know. I just made them up for DRAMA. Also, please somebody else let me know that the  last paragraph reminds them of “Days of our Years” from Mystery Science Theatre 3000. It’s only one of their best shorts ever. Which is saying something!

To quote the two robots (and Crow): “So, the leading causes of accidents is joy, sex, and old age?”

 

Quite.

 

 

Good luck, you brave writer folk!

 

END TRANSMISSION.

 

 

3 comments on “Friday Fictioneers Fiction: Remembering History

  1. Wow, that mom really had post partum crazies!

  2. Shivers. This story got under my skin. The three paragraphs feel so disjointed, random, on the surface, and yet. I’m hopeful there’s a detective skillful enough to tie these threads together.

  3. I certainly see that what you wrote is more uplifting and upbeat than what you mentioned in your opening. 🙂 Or not.

    janet

Leave a Reply

