Five Sentence Fiction: A Gift for You

 

Yes, in a rare double-whammy I am outputting two flash-fiction pieces in ONE DAY (unless we’re going by WordPress time, otherwise known as “the wrong time”). My entry of Friday Fictioneers is up and I’m here to redeem myself for my debacle with Five Sentence Fiction last week. No, you don’t get a link to it because it was AWFUL. And SHAMEFUL. And other bad things ending with the suffix “-ful.” Anyway, let’s get right down to it…

Right after rattle off whatever comes into my brain for a little bit longer and I take up some more of your (probably) valuable time.

 

Right, off we go.

 

Have fun~

 


 

 

Word of Inspiration: Offering

Word Count: 137

Genre: Realistic Fiction

Title: A Gift for You

 

If you have a minute, it won’t take more than that I swear, I want to give you something. No, you don’t have to open your hand or anything, just keep your mind open, that’s what’s most important.

Here it is, all of this.

Don’t make that face, I made it for you and you can do whatever you want with it; kick it to the curb, introduce it to your new industrial-strength blender with four speeds and an “atomize” function, but let me explain a little bit first. Whatever plagued you before you came here, it disappeared for these five sentences I’ll bet; you came, you read, you forgot, it’s the gift of fiction, a few words (137, in fact) that put you into a different world and different mind where your troubles can’t follow you.

 

 


 

 

Even if it IS totally half-baked and barely spell-checked like most of my flash fiction, I hope that my wonky little gift to you was actually that. I mean, hell, I hope I didn’t somehow inflict harm on you by having you read that little story. No, it couldn’t possibly be that bad.

Probably.

Regardless, I really do believe that fiction can have a truly transformative effect on its readers, not just pulling them away from their issues but giving them answers and insights when they might not have ever noticed them or taken heed if they were presented in the real world. But “real world” is a kind of loaded term. After all, any sufficiently fantastic fiction is indistinguishable from reality.

I mean, have you seen the Holo-deck? That thing’s nuts (and all pensiveness just flew out the window and was atomized in a blender)!

 

 

Good luck, you brave writer folk!

 

END TRANSMISSION.

 

Leave a Reply

