Five Sentence Fiction: Taketh

 

My friends, I present to you once again, the fruits of my labour that were only picked right before the deadline and are filled with self-referential inability to come up with some so short over such a long stretch of time. One would think that it would be fairly easy then for me to come up with something that was only five sentences long. Well that would be, like many things in our tiny tiny lives, would be wrong. What can I say, I really like short and punchy sentences? So 100 words in Friday Fictioneers is much harder than 5 sentences in Five Sentence Fiction.

Besides, I (supposedly) kicked my habit of run-on sentences a long time ago.

 

Have fun regardless~

 


 

 

Word of Inspiration: Villainous

Word Count: 180

Genre: Creative Nonfiction (I suppose)

Title: Taketh

 

 

I see you there, over there in the dark corners of my thought processes, where you think I can’t see you. I can see through your lies and your deceptions… but that doesn’t mean I’m going to disregard them, pass by them like a 2/2 Dimir blue-black creature with unblockable (which I think you can create by using the Dimir keyrune… I had better go look that up on Google really quick or it’s going to keep bugging me)- in fact, it probably means I’m just going to be chained to them like a big iron anchor.

Why do iron anchors not fall apart from rust by being underwater for so long (it’s because there’s a notable lack of oxygen, which is necessary for the rusting process, in the ocean)? I’m glad I looked that up, or else it would have just kept bugging me.

Curse you villainous curiosity, you who sits over there in my dark thought process tunnels, you who giveth prose and taketh away simply because I can ask “what if?” at the right or wrong times.

 

 


 

 

Oh, Five Sentence Fiction, if you’re not the step-headed red child of this family of short fiction (Featured Fiction is currently away at college and will not be rejoining us until she has completed her studies), then I don’t know what is. It’s hard to write you in general, hard to write a foreword or afterword and hard to become enthused when I don’t have my PUNCHY LITTLE LINES that I thrive on as a person who couldn’t live without free-indirect style and free-flowing narrative!

But hey, at least the M.N.P. worked out well, huh?

Yes, yes it did.

 

 

Good luck, you brave writer folk!

 

END TRANSMISSION.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

