Friday Fictioneers: All that Remains

 

There has to be some kind of reason why February is the slowest damn month ever. Maybe because it’s cold, grey, and every place on Earth is England for this month only. I might also then have a plausible excuse outside of, “I have so much work to do right now it’s literally creating a gravity well that’s crushing my bones into pudding,” to place the blame on for my lack of activity here.

Hey I know, maybe I’ll make another horrendously-long creative project based off of research coming from a videogame… yeah, I’ll call it Lorequest and it will torment through all my days!

That sounds like a great idea.

Afterwards, to continue on my streak, I’ll read all of Infinite Jest from behind a white linen veil and under the weight of crippling depression. You know, for the full experience.

February is also the month of downer openings I suppose, too. And also the hardest-to-spell month ever.

 

Have fun~

 


 

 

Image Copyright: Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Image Copyright: Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

 

Title: All that Remains

Genre: Realistic Fiction

Word Count: 100

 

 

“What should we call this place?” I had asked my mother twenty years ago.

“’Home,’ seems fitting,” she had said, smiling. “We can rebuild here.”

My mother had taken a picture of the porch on the first day we lived there. The columns were clean and white enough to be made of snow that never wasted away.

Now, I lowered that same picture. It was the only thing that remained of Home that was still pristine. Even columns were worn to a sickly grey and were crumbling. But I caught my breath.

“I can rebuild here…” I said to Home.

 

 

 


 

 

Here’s a novel idea, maybe I should have my characters DO something in my Friday Fictioneers entries. I really need to reclaim my past glories of people doing really wonky stuff, like reanimating the dead (which was my first entry, no less!). But then, how many rascally-things can I force kids to do? Probably quite a lot, actually…

Okay, you know what, for the rest of February, both these entries and the Five Sentence Fiction ones are going to be about people doing really crazy stuff! You know, stuff that’s interesting to read.

February, the month of bitter self-reflection!

 

 

Good luck in this dark and dreary month, you brave writer folk!

 

END TRANSMISSION.

 

 

7 comments on “Friday Fictioneers: All that Remains

  1. Dear Michael,

    Sounds like you’re doing a bit of rebuilding of your own. Nice use of the prompt.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  2. milliethom says:

    I love the ‘coming full circle’ idea in this and the near-repetition of the words, ‘We (I) can rebuild here.’ That the narrator is talking to Home is a good way of saying that Mother is no longer there. 🙂

  3. I agree with Millie – the mother is no longer there and probably why the home has deteriorated. Now she (?) is taking the role of the mother. Nice story!

  4. Your story seems to match your editorial. How the mind works….so interesting..

  5. Nan Falkner says:

    Dear Michael? or Marshalhopalop, I like that she is going to refurbish the home and has the picture of what it looked like years ago. Her mother is probably whispering in her ear (“You’ll be safe here and it will be HOME!”). I really love this imagery your painted with your words! Nan 🙂

  6. […] after my little realization for metamorphosis that I had in my last entry, I decided to A: not take the prompt so literally (I always had to do some kind of pun about what I […]

Leave a Reply

