Friday Fictioneers: Blessed Perfection

 

BEGIN TRANSMISSION.

 

Well, after my little realization for metamorphosis that I had in my last entry, I decided to A: not take the prompt so literally (I always had to do some kind of pun about what I was looking at) and B: inject my usual sense of mysticism into my story. Really, everything’s made a bit more interesting with some absurdist magic inserted into it. Sure, the story itself is totally feasible, but a story isn’t just plot, the word choice can define it just as much as anything else.

So, that’s what I tried this week! I think it went pretty okay. Although now I have a newfound appreciation for my own physical flaws. The life of a vain hedonist sounds awful. And high-maintenance.

 

Have fun~

 


 

 

Image Copyright: Marie Gail Stratford

Image Copyright: Marie Gail Stratford

 

Title: Blessed Perfection

Genre: Realistic(ish) Fiction

Word Count: 100

 

 

Even my reflections smile at me. In the parallel universes of water and glass fine art is still appreciated. I smile and infinite worlds smile back. Still, it was not enough.

I found it in an antique store that smelled of old sofas. It was made of wood and probably had thousands of imperfect hands touching it. But I thought of the end results and ignored my distaste. I held that old kaleidoscope up to the grandest of my sixteen mirrors.

I felt tears welling up. And I let them overflow.

Infinite reflections of myself… Perfection in thousands of lenses.

 

 

 


 

 

I modeled the antique shop in the story on one near my campus, actually. And it does in fact smell like old grandma couches. I really like it in there.

Once more, I find I have nothing to say here! Five-sentence Fiction seems to get all of my good pre and post-entry banter. Probably because I could only use about half of the sentences I really wanted to when writing said entry. But suffice to say, I like where this one went and will try to keep up this zaniness (at least for a little while). It was more fun to write, too.

 

 

Good luck, you brave writer folk!

 

END TRANSMISSION.

 

5 comments on “Friday Fictioneers: Blessed Perfection

  1. Nan Falkner says:

    I think there really could be a parallel universe! Really – anything is open for interpretation. I like your story and the way you question things! Good for you and great story! Nan 🙂

  2. Sandra says:

    I don’t think he’s got a problem with his ego, though his perception might be a bit off kilter. Good job.

  3. Michael B. Fishman says:

    I thought this was a beautiful story, Michael. A couple of little things you said in the narrative really brought it to life for me. I never thought of a kaleidoscope when I looked at the picture!

  4. Dear Michael,

    Now it’s my turn to say, “Wow!” The smell of old couches was just enough to make the thrift store real.

    Do you know anything about narcissistic personality disorder (NPD)? I’ve known three N’s and this could’ve come from any one of their twisted minds. Nicely done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • Thanks for the feedback, it really means a lot. And no, I don’t know much about the science of it. But that sounds like an interesting condition to study. I always love for things to be just a little bit twisted.

Leave a Reply

