Friday Fictioneers: Abyss

 

BEGIN TRANSMISSION

 

It really is a strange phenomenon that as soon as I come home from college, even if it’s for only a few days, I completely neglect to work very hard on my blog work. I had even written this and the Five Sentence Fiction a day ago and yet here I am, a week later, still ironing it out for today.

Consistently inconsistent is a good way to describe a lot of my work ethic as soon as I come home, strangely. I think it comes from the fact that, with no friends around me to do such horrible things as enjoyable socialize with me,

 

 

Have fun~

 


 

 

Image Copyright: Lauren Moscato

Image Copyright: Lauren Moscato

 

Word Count: 100

Genre: Realistic Fiction

Title: Abyss

 

 

Dad left for the oil rig five years ago. I sent him letters for four years, one every week, asking how he was and what he thought of the pictures of me graduating from middle school, starting high school, winning the Science Olympiad, and so on and on. Then, mom finally convinced me to stop sending them. I’d like to think the day dad left, he just opened the front door and fell into an abyss. It’s not a happy answer but at least it’s something.

I’ve decided to go to college for a Sociology degree; Dad always hated Sociology.

 

 

 


 

 

I’m really not entirely happy with this one, regardless of how much I mull over it. It just didn’t stick out as having the same punch as some of my more favoured ones like Battle of Dinnerplate 6 and Remembering History. Granted, if I had the space of a few more sentences, I probably could have added something a little more surreal or symbolic to such an odd sight as a door with no floor.

But alas, them’s the 100-word breaks.

Now, if you excuse me, I’m going to continue preparing for the all-day ham-obliterating affair that is Easter.

 

 

Good luck, you brave writer folk!

 

END TRANSMISSION.

 

 

6 comments on “Friday Fictioneers: Abyss

  1. I actually loved it. I think it said a lot in 100 words or less.

  2. Nan Falkner says:

    Good story and it seems she had a love/hate relationship with her father. Too bad he hasn’t answered any of her letters. Sad story! Nan 🙂

  3. Creatopath says:

    I liked it, especially the ending.

  4. dmmacilroy says:

    Motivation comes in all shapes and sizes. Hang tough and write when your muse advises you to.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  5. Well, I certainly know the feeling of wanting more from something I’ve written.
    My best advice, though, given the story is: don’t fall into any abyss over it. Ha.

    Lots more stories to come…
    Randy

  6. micklively says:

    I think you’ve painted your picture really well in so few words. Don’t be down on yourself.

Leave a Reply

