Five Sentence Fiction: A New Kind of Family

 

BEGIN TRANSMISSION.

 

Well, I just had my first anime convention adventure, namely the one at ACEN here in Illinois, so that will be serving as the inspiration for today’s story. Also, because I was away from the computer for about two days, I couldn’t think of anything else “family” related, so this is what you get!

Also, I’m still very tired from that whole adventure, so I’m just going to cut this short and say that ACEN was very fun and I feel like if I had any idea what I was doing and knew about the event more than a week ahead of time, I could have enjoyed it much more.

Next time!

 

Have fun~

 


 

 

Word of Inspiration: Family

Word Count: 207

Genre: Creative Non-Fiction

Title: A New Kind of Family

 

As cheesy as it is, the phrase, “When one door closes, another opens,” is actually fairly accurate (even if it has no basis in physical reality). I had been laying in a slow-low burn kind of state, just staring up at the ceiling, wondering how and why life needed to continue after I had done all the graduating I could and met with all the great people that I could ever need.

I had never seen so many people with so much make-up and wielding so many iPhones and 3DS’, but it somehow all felt… begrudgingly normal and forceful in its pushy acceptance; it’s a lot like a family, actually, so full of good intention and genuine joy that you just can’t quite get into the mood for.

Far be it from me to make grand, sweeping speculation about life (I usually reserve that for my fiction writing), but I can’t help but think that there are pools of people like that everywhere in the world. There will always be people out there in large shuffling groups in bizarre outfits that will be so aggressively friendly that you feel strangely empty after leaving them (and at least some of those people will be outside of insane asylums).

 

 

(Five Sentence Fiction’s page is down right now, so the frog will show up sometime later!)

 


 

 

As cheesy as it sounds, I’m going to go find blocks of cheese in my fridge and just start devouring them. For some reason, I have a mixture of pre-employment jitters (starting an internship tomorrow with an 8-hour day for orientation [yaaaaaaaay]), separation sadness, and legitimate hunger. And I guess I just have a craving for cheese right now.

 

My life really does swing from adventurous and interesting to so mind-curdlingly mundane.

 

 

Good luck, you brave writer folk!

 

END TRANSMISSION.

 

Leave a Reply

