Friday Fictioneers: Mister Hide-and-Seek

 

BEGIN TRANSMISSION.

 

I’m under a time crunch again! Gotta get into my car, get to my internship, and to piddly nothing at said internship. So, to the theme of American Pie, I am going to hit copy + paste so hard and so fast, you won’t even be able to believe it!

Plus, this is the internet, I could just be lying about all this anyway. I could be a talking bell pepper for all you know.

 

 

Have fun~

 


 

 

Image Copyright: Douglas M. MacIlroy

Image Copyright: Douglas M. MacIlroy

 

Word Count: 100

Genre: Horror/Fantasy

Title: Mister Hide-and-Seek

 

It’s back.

Mister Hide-and-Seek is inside the house again. This is visit number eleven.

And now, it’s just found hidey-hole number twenty seven. The one underneath the coffee pot.

Three more until it finds all thirty.

In other words, three or fewer until it finds me—

Nevermind. Now it’s two or fewer…

Mom told me that Mister Hide-and-Seek could never find every single hiding spot. It’s a spoiled Satan-spawn demon dog that never works too hard to get what it wants.

But what does she know anyway? She’s in the nuthouse—

One more…

I’m thinking she’s the lucky one now.

 

 

 


 

 

It was fun and actually relatively easy to write this one, which was a nice change after getting so many headaches trying to crank out the last few entries. I think the change of genre and the flexibility of the picture really helped. If I could just do more of that, I’ll be happy. Besides, I’m coming closer and closer to the one-year anniversary of my blog, which really got kicked off by my more-creative Friday Fictioneers, so perhaps it’s time to return to that.

What, you were expecting some sarcastic, facetious turnaround that would invalidate what I just said? Please, as of yesterday, I am 22 years old. I think I can be mature for at least fifteen more minutes.

 

After then, expect things to go back to the (demon) dogs.

 

 

Good luck, you brave writer folk!

 

END TRANSMISSION.

 

 

 

4 comments on “Friday Fictioneers: Mister Hide-and-Seek

  1. Dear Michael,

    Happy birthday. Twenty-two. I’m pretty sure I have shoes that are older. 😉

    I’m going to go check my coffee pot to make sure Mr. Hide and Seek isn’t there.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  2. gahlearner says:

    Even though the MC will probably be with his mum soon, this Mr. Hide and Seek is eerily scary. Great story.

  3. micklively says:

    Creepy! That’s one game I wouldn’t want to lose.

  4. Margaret says:

    He’s a troubled soul. Is he all alone there without his mother? The notion of hiding places is intriguing – and the counting. A wonderfully intriguing story.

Leave a Reply

