Friday Fictioneers: The Tiniest Astronaught

 

BEGIN TRANSMISSION.

 

Okay, now I just know that WordPress is making laughs at me. I thought I had pegged this site for hosting out of New York since it always seems to say it’s tomorrow around 9-10PM. But now it’s saying that it’s June the 13th today when it is clearly still the 13th. So, I went onto the ever-venerable Wikipedia and found that it’s based out of California.

The only logical explanation is that some of WordPress’ employees waffled a ritual offering to Cronus and now he’s all miffed about it and decided to take out his rage on their clocks.

That is the ONLY logical explanation.

 

Fave hun~

 


 

 

Image Copyright: Raina Ng

Image Copyright: Raina Ng

 

Word Count: 100

Genre: “Realistic” Fiction

Title: Warm Breath

 

There’s so much space between the planets, but I can make it. They are dangling, in the wood-paneled void. I push my wings to push me. I near the first planet and, wow, look at all of its colours. Like spun sunset, it’s all waves and curves of pink and orange.

Suddenly, I feel lonely up here in the cosmos; I wish I had a sweet orange to suck on.

What’s that sudden rushing of wind? Is it the hand of God, coming to smite my tiny body with His fiery flyswatter?

Boy, I hope not. That would just be terrib—

 

 

 


 

 

It’s “realistic” because a fly would never be alive long enough to learn about abstract concepts such as flyswatters. That’s like humans learning about the alien overlords that harvest us and turn us into breakfast cereal. Mortal lifespans just aren’t that long.

 

Oh and this is “technically” 101 words but because the last one got cut off before a gruesome demise, I’m not counting it.

If WordPress doesn’t have to strictly adhere to the space-time continuum, neither do I!

 

 

Good luck, you brave writer folk!

 

END TRANSMISSION.

 

 

 

 

 

5 comments on “Friday Fictioneers: The Tiniest Astronaught

  1. I absolutely love it! — And it is my understanding that those who work for WordPress live all over the world. Maybe that is why it is so confusing.

  2. Dear Michael,

    I have yet to figure out WordPress’s space time continuum either. I thought maybe it was the time of the blogger, but sometimes I’m not sure.

    Your tiny astronaut is amusing. I’ll think about him next time I go to smash a fly. 😉

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  3. gravadee says:

    An autobiography of a Fly?

  4. wildbilbo says:

    Ha, very clever 🙂 I liked this one a lot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

