Friday Fictioneers: The Claws that Scar

 

BEGIN TRANSMISSION.

 

Well, isn’t this a fine fiddle of fish. This is my one-year anniversary of being with Friday Fictioneers. It’s hard to wrap my mind around how this has become such a weekly ritual for me and how many stories I’ve written in that last year. I still defend that my first work is one of my best but in the interest of the cycle repeating, I’m going to try a few things coming up:

 

1. Another Miniature Narrative Project. My last one didn’t get a lot of exposure but they were fun as butts to write, so write them I shall!

2. Smaller beginning and ending sections. I had mentioned before that they can be a bit of a burden to write, so here’s to brutally cutting them down to size.

3. Use more dialogue. It’s harder but more fun to write more personality rather than atmosphere into my work.

 

So, with that, on we go to this very special Friday Fictioneers!

 

Have fun (I’ve been having it for a whole year now!)~

 


 

 

Image Copyright: Stephen Baum

Image Copyright: Stephen Baum

 

Word Count: 100

Genre: (Somewhat) Realistic Fiction

Title: The Claws that Scar

 

“Don’t run!” I yell. “I just want to eat your face!”

My prey shrieks in the darkness, her limp companion dangling behind. My claw reaches out and snatches her friend away.

“Delicious flesh!” I shove my first victim into my mouth— turns out teddy bears taste terrible.

But then an angel haloed in halogen appears in the hall’s farthest doorway. She flicks on the lights. I hiss in anger, my cover blown! My sister wails under mom’s legs and I’m sent to bed early to think about what I did.

Silly humans, giving me time to plan my next attack…

 

 

 


 

 

The title is, of course, in reference to the deep psychological scars that will one day haunt this poor girl. It is foretold by the scrolls that this poor traumatized girl will craft a second sun via science magic that will light up the world forever before setting it on fire like a meatball.

Like her lost teddy bear, it will taste terrible.

 

 

Good luck, you brave writer folk!

 

END TRANSMISSION.

 

10 comments on “Friday Fictioneers: The Claws that Scar

  1. Vinay Leo R. says:

    Hmm. The boy has a very active imagination :mrgreen: 😀 Hope his sister is ready for the next prank.

  2. Happy Anniversary!
    Love the story, reminds me of my brother and some of his antics. Like the time I was in the cardboard box playing house and he showed up with matches. 🙂

  3. Dear Michael,

    Poor “monster” sent to bed with a mouth full of fuzz and stuffings. Love the twist.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  4. Dave says:

    I admit, I got a grin out of the teddy bear stuffing.

  5. micklively says:

    If he grows up anything like normal, it will be a miracle.

  6. Sandra says:

    Yeah, a kid like that would be a nightmare to have around. Eventually.

  7. gahlearner says:

    Heheh, I love it. One day, he’ll be a great writer with his imagination. If his sister lets him live. 😉

Leave a Reply

