Friday Fictioneers: American Nightmare

 

BEGIN TRANSMISSION.

 

Even when trying to go for gritty and realistic I can’t manage to keep all of my purpose prose out of the way. Perhaps that is my lot in life as both a person and an author, to bring complication to simplicity- interesting complication but complication nevertheless.

 

Have fun~

 


 

 

Image Copyright: Madison Woods

Image Copyright: Madison Woods

 

Word Count: 100

Genre: Realistic Fiction

Title: American Nightmare

 

 

I’m afraid of the dark. But tonight, God and the moon are lighting our way.

Come on, mom,” I yell.

She’s stuck in the swampy underbrush, my little sister in her arms and littler sister still in her belly.

“They’re getting closer.” The words sound like a desperate prayer.

The men who chase us, their hats tall and white, sound like rabid dogs. Some of them have shovels, knives, and worse.

I pull my mom along by the wrist. It’s 1968, dammit. One-hundred years later and we still aren’t safe and free. All we can do is run. And dream.

 

 

 


 

 

You know, every time I post one of these, I have to run back to earlier posts to see how I arranged the whole “Genre, Word Count, Title” thing. After more than a year of doing this, you’d figure I would have memorized all of that already, but nope. Interestingly complicated indeed.

 

 

Good luck, you brave writer folk!

 

END TRANSMISSION.

 

 

4 comments on “Friday Fictioneers: American Nightmare

  1. Kalpana Solsi says:

    I could feel the pain and anxiety of the people fleeing.

    Well etched story.

  2. Dear Michael,

    I have the feeling we headed in the same direction this week. Nicely done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  3. Well written story Michael. How horribly sad that this has its roots in truth

  4. gahlearner says:

    So true, and now we have 2015 and still no relief. Great writing.

Leave a Reply

