Friday Fictioneers: “Pessimistic”

 

BEGIN TRANSMISSION.

 

For comparison, the Atlantic Ocean is 41,100,000 square miles large.

 

 

Have fun~

 


 

 

 

Image Copyright: C.E.Ayr

Image Copyright: C.E.Ayr- the captions are messing up with this picture! Oh dear.

 

Title: Pessimistic

Genre: Science Fiction

Word Count: 100

 

I watch as the spaceship takes flight. It’s silent and quick, more like a bird than any kind of old rocket. Alpha Centauri will be getting a new load of colonists soon.

“Come on, honey,” I say to my wife. “The line at the Ocean Exhibit is already long.”

She nods, bouncing on her heels. She reads about oceans like fairy tales. All those fish, whales, and water must have been amazing to see. But the Exhibit has the largest oceanic remnant in the world— 4,000 square miles of real ocean salt water of what was once called the Atlantic.

 

 


 

 

While it’s all cool that space travel could explore other planets and stuff, if Earth is all incinerated, it probably won’t matter a whole lot. Unless the spaceships found a giant water planet! How a huge planet-sized ball of water exists in space, I have no idea. We should probably just not evaporate all the oceans. That’ll work, too.

 

 

 

Good luck, you brave writer folk!

 

END TRANSMISSION.

 

 

5 comments on “Friday Fictioneers: “Pessimistic”

  1. Frightening thought. Excellent story.

  2. Dear Michael,

    is this the shape of the future? Well imagined.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  3. gahlearner says:

    Great story. Drowning is the more likely scenario though. If glacial and permafrost melting goes on as it does, oceans will rise considerably. Florida, the Netherlands, parts of Germany and many other low altitude areas may be gone by 2050. There were some projections I’ve read a while ago, I think it was in National Geographic, but couldn’t find it again. But I don’t want to hijack your comment section. Great story, and I love the whole atmosphere of it. (And of course I’d have a lot to say about space exploration, too. 😉 )

    • After recently watching Interstellar, I’m on a kind of science/space exploration craze right now so all of that was actually very interesting. The flooding scenario is quite a bit more likely than what I went with, but I think I was channeling a bit more 40k when I wrote this one. The every-becomes-a-desert fate of the world has always interested me.

      • gahlearner says:

        I’m not very knowledgeable about meteorology, but I think it’s quite possible that large areas, prairies and savannahs esp. become deserts. In other places it would rain a lot. To lose a large amount of water into space in a foreseeable future you’d need a major catastrophe like a really huge meteor–but then we wouldn’t be here to care any more. On the other hand, there is no knowing what mischief we can come up with ourselves, we might just be stupid enough to punch holes into our atmosphere and vent some of the gases out through miscalculations of ‘something’–more food for Scifi. 🙂
        AFAIK the projections for significant natural loss of hydrogen over time are 3 billion years or so. With the magnetic field and the gravity, hydrogen loss is slow, that of other gases like O2, CO2 and Nitrogen even slower. From what I understand (I’m not an expert), we rather move towards Venus than Mars, atmosphere-wise.
        I think it’s great fun to speculate about these things for SciFi. Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

