Friday Fictioneers: “Airborne Dreams”

 

BEGIN TRANSMISSION.

 

I actually wrote the endnote before the beginningnote (?) today. And then I failed to spell “transmission” five times in a row. So I’m glad that endnote is all the way down there where I can’t look at its shame.

 

Have fun~

 


 

 

Title: Airborne Dreams

Genre: Realistic Fiction

Word Count: 100

 

Photo Copyright: Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Photo Copyright: Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

 

I wanted to bring our neighborhood together. Nobody hardly even saw each other outside anymore (we were falsely labeled a ghost town by Wikipedia). So I read up on the Wright Brothers. The wings they made changed the world.

So I showed everybody how to make planes and I told them just how much weight they could carry.

The planes had no names. They were launched from windowsill berths like great white ships. Each one had a dream, wish, or confession— heavy thoughts all— written deep inside its fuselage.

They landed all over town, seeding the ground with new dreams.

 

 

 


 

 

I’m thinking I need one of those planes. Except I’m terrible at making them. They always end up looking like hats that nobody can wear. Paper-folding isn’t my thing.

 

 

Good luck, you brave writer folk!

 

END TRANSMISSION.

 

7 comments on “Friday Fictioneers: “Airborne Dreams”

  1. I like the idea of launching dreams on paper wings.

  2. Margaret says:

    Lovely story. To knit a community together with paper planes – a great idea.

  3. yarnspinnerr says:

    That is a lovely take.

  4. What an intriguing idea, both on the narrator’s part and yours.

    janet

  5. Dear Michael,

    A clever idea and a lovely take on the prompt.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  6. Alice Audrey says:

    I see a street sweeping crew stopping to read them before throwing them away.

Leave a Reply

