Friday Fictioneers: “Silent Steel”

 

BEGIN TRANSMISSION.

 

To think I could go from cramping my stomach watching John Hodgman to writing about, well, this, really just proves I’m supposed to be a writer with my onset mood-swings.

 

Have fun~

 


 

 

Image Copyright: The Reclining Gentleman

Image Copyright: The Reclining Gentleman

 

Title: Silent Steal

Genre: Historical Fiction

Word Count: 100

 

You’ve never heard of where I live because it doesn’t exist anymore. You’ve never heard of me because I died without a name.

The Blitz our horizon and we couldn’t live in fear anymore. One night we took every car in town and drove north.

Propellers chopped up the air from far away. I craned my head out into the cold, still night— the kind of night when no man deserved to die.

But those propellers were coming from the east, from Germany.

They must have thought we were a convoy. Their bullets only destroyed town cars and humble hopes.

 

 

 


 

 

What a zippy fun story this one was! I really want to go back to writing more either funny or just kind of zany stories, if only for a little while. But a nighttime bridge with big eye-like headlights attached to cars poised to run over the cameraman didn’t really scream “zany” to me.

Next time.

Next time.

 

 

Good luck, you brave writer folk!

 

END TRANSMISSION.

 

 

 

2 comments on “Friday Fictioneers: “Silent Steel”

  1. What kind of mother would let her child die without a name?

  2. micklively says:

    Vive la France!
    Good piece.

Leave a Reply

