Flash! Friday: “Boneyard.”

 

BEGIN TRANSMISSION.

 

I’m starting to re-discover my love for TV Tropes.com. Someone please send help.

 

Have fun~

 


 

 

Title: Boneyard

Setting: The Middle of the Ocean

Theme: Power of Nature

Word Count: 125

 

My father told me that there used to be an ocean here, beneath our feet. But I don’t believe him. Oceans just seem so impossible. All that water and all that life taking up so much space. Where did all the people live before the salt-soaked Endless Land formed in its stead?

I ask if oceans ever existed. This makes my father sad for a reason I can’t figure out. He bends down and picks up one tiny bone. A fish bone, he tells me.

“There’s still more?” I say. “I thought I got them all.”

My father pats the huge ribs of the whale’s skeleton that’s become our house.

“That’s what we thought when the oceans were still around. That there’d always be more.”

 

 

THE OTHERS

 


 

 

I really am starting to think that TV Tropes is so brilliant because it’s like Confirmation Bias, the website. It makes you realize how not-insane you are for thinking that something was just soul-crushingly sad on TV when none of your friends think so.

But the internet knows better. It always does.

 

 

Good luck, you brave writer folk!

 

END TRANSMISSION.

 

Leave a Reply

