Daily Prompt 7: “Trains, Planes, and Automobiles.”

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Trains, Planes, and Automobiles.”

 

BEGIN TRANSMISSION.

 

Unemployment is strangely liberating in the opportunities it provides.

 

Have fun~

 


 

Title: “Trains, Planes, and Automobiles.”

Prompt: “You’re going on a cross-country trip. Airplane, train, bus, or car? (Or something else entirely — bike? Hot air balloon?)”

 

Short answer: Train.

Long Answer: TRAIN.

 

I love trains, always have. As a child, I wanted to be a train conductor as my dream job. All those stupid kids wanting to be astronauts and doctors and stuff. Me, I just wanted to ride trains. There’s something utterly delightful about riding a train. It’s not so claustrophobic or security-obsessed as a plane and it’s not nearly so loud or disorienting. You get to see the countryside zip past you without having to drive or do any real work on your own. It’s a magical kind of feeling for me, to be honest. I usually take a trip down to Chicago once every two months or so (depends, sometimes its more like once a month) and I always look forward to the train rides going down there and coming back. I love listening to the other passenger’s conversations (which is like eavesdropping but I almost immediately forget what was said a day or two later [unless its drunk teenagers/college kids. That stuff’s gold in word form]) and letting the whole of the visible world roll by.

 

Which also means I actually get to look at the towns and people as we pass them. Gives me a bit of a perspective shift when I see all of the places I pass in a train, even just doing down to Chicago. The main thing I’ve realized about this all is that the world is really freaking big.

 

Like, there are three things I don’t get from people:

  1. When asked, “Did it all seem to go quickly?” about my college career, my answer of “heck no,” usually surprises people. I mean, four years in which I radically changed (for the better [?]) as a person alongside making all-new friends and learning something new every single day, can hardly pass in a wink. Freshman year seems a lifetime ago already.

2. Being told that, because of the internet, the world seems so much smaller now. If anything, the world’s bigger now than ever before. When you go onto Wikipedia and realize that there are thousands (if not millions) of articles that’s just extremely truncated information on incredibly complex and complicated topics, you can kind of realize just how giant the world is. Or how going from Illinois to India by plane takes the greater part of a day? Realizing how long a day really is and how fast you’re going in a plane and the world just grows exponentially in size in my head.

3. No, inquisitive old people, I never went to any sports games while at college. Except for half a basketball game once. Which was actually pretty fun. Still! Do I look like a sportsy person to you?

 

Fun Fact: I want my wedding to be a train. One with multiple cars so the reception can be held and then the food and all that can be in a different room and then we can even sleep on it. Since I’ve always wanted to do that. I’ll just have to convince my partner to be okay with having a less-than-traditional wedding night.

Besides, then I can say to my partner, “I never want to get off of our crazy train.”

Provided the entire audience isn’t killed with the blunt trauma of that pun, I’d consider that line al

one worth the whole affair.

 

THE OTHERS

 

 


 

Pingback:

<a href="https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/trains-planes-and-automobiles/">Trains, Planes, and Automobiles</a>

 

 

Is it normal to become really sleepy and distracted all the sudden when reading something that you’re totally not interested in? Like, even if its a three-sentence-long (and not MY kind of paragraph-long sentences, either) email? Because boy does it happen a lot to me.

 

Good luck, you brave writer folk!

 

 

END TRANSMISSION.

 

 

Leave a Reply

