Friday Fictioneers: Live Wire

 

BEGIN TRANMISSION.

 

Based on real events from last night. Filming football games takes a lot of mettle, I assure you. Especially when it’s 40 degrees and windy.

 

Have fun~

 


 

 

Image Copyright: Connie Gayer

Image Copyright: Connie Gayer

 

Title: Live Wire

Genre: Almost Nonfiction

Word Count: 100

 

 

 

The football stadium thrums with life. Our video feed, however, does not.

“We’re live in five minutes, people. Pick up the pace.” My boss tenses over his keyboard like a turtle under attack. The cold inside comes his temper.

“Page?” Someone asks. “Did we forget her?”

“Crap,” my boss said. “She had our video cable.”

“I’m right here,” Page said.

“Right where?”

“Here.”

“No, I mean the cable.”

“I guess I’m able,” Page says, chewing her lip. “I signed up for this, didn’t I?”

“The video cable.”

The crowd outside roars. Football must be a huge deal to some people.

 

 

 


 

 

Boy, when it rains it really pours doesn’t it? It always seems like whenever I actually have free time, there’s a thousand new things that I discover that come crawling out of the ground like zombies. The football filming I referenced in the story is one such 12 hour roadblock/zombie.

 

 

Good luck, you brave writer folk!

 

END TRANSMISSION.

 

 

4 comments on “Friday Fictioneers: Live Wire

  1. gahlearner says:

    Hehe, I wouldn’t want to be anywhere close to that boss when the cable isn’t there. Love the phrase, “tenses up like a turtle under attack.”

  2. Football must be a huge deal to some people As a person who has never understand football I can REALLY relate to this line.

  3. jellico84 says:

    heheh! Not a big ball fan, but I do on occasion do some camera work. Too funny.

  4. Cute.
    i like word plays better than sports plays.
    Randy

Leave a Reply

