Friday Fictioneers: “Ruination of Imagination”

 

BEGIN TRANSMISSION.

 

It might just be the enormous ocean of stress on my shoulders right now (I’m not even in school right now but I swear I’m taking finals right now) but I really couldn’t come up with anything for this week. So I’ll just borrow a title from an old poem of mine and  then try to come up with something with little-to-no prior planning.

We’ll see how that goes.

 

Have fun~

 


 

 

Image Copyright: J Hardy Carroll

Image Copyright: J Hardy Carroll

 

Title: Ruination of Imagination

Genre: (Almost) Nonfiction

Word Count: 100

 

 

 

I end up over at the open grave. It’s unmarked but I’m already familiar with it— it belongs to someone I knew very well.

A skeleton lays inside, as if it died waiting. I hoist its skull up to the sun and indeed, “Alas! I knew ye well!”

The detritus of my dear better half is scattered before me, wrapped up like a casserole in paper. Somehow, my head is almost completely empty at the draining sight. It must be that, with his departure, I only try to create noise, if only to avoid silence.

There, pathetically, lies my imagination.

 

 

 


 

 

Meh.

That’s what I think of it. Just meh.

 

 

Good luck, you brave writer folk!

 

END TRANSMISSION.

 

6 comments on “Friday Fictioneers: “Ruination of Imagination”

  1. I like it. I don’t know what it means. But I like it.
    An abstract painting, a dotted image, a cassoulet of noise and bones, rendered by a laid-to-rest imagination.
    … a soundless fury.

    Randy

    • I think that comment just made my day, especially the “soundless fury” part. I’m in the market for book titles right now and Sound and the Fury has always been my favourite, so it’s neat to see things come semi-full circle.

  2. hafong says:

    I like it, too. Maybe because it’s sort of confusing, but not really. I understand it. I think I have a disorder of some sort – attention deficit maybe,

    Lily

  3. micklively says:

    You’ve set my mind all atumble.
    Good piece.

  4. gahlearner says:

    I love it, your explanation how it came about makes it so interesting–and funny in a way. Free writing is fun.

  5. […] it’s a lot more coherent than last week’s. That was something truly special! Although, people seemed to really like it. That always happens […]

Leave a Reply

