Friday Fictioneers: “Old, Familiar World”

 

BEGIN TRANSMISSION.

 

I feel like I’m obligated to write something about Thanksgiving this time around. It’s a shame I don’t also feel obligated to submit these darn things on time!

 

Have fun~

 


 

 

Image Copyright: Sandra Crook

Image Copyright: Sandra Crook

 

Title: Old, Familiar World

Genre: Historical Fiction

Word Count: 100

 

When I was a boy, a ship carrying my family, a wolf-eyed father and a mother with dawn in her hair, departed for the sunset horizon. I was to wait until the New World was ‘settled and civilized.’

Thus I watched for the ship from a grassy seaside cliff every day.

Years passed and not even the gout stopped me from climbing the cliff. I came less often after I was wed. And even less after my son was born. I promised to never leave them for new worlds— no family should have to wait like widows on a watch.

 

 

 


 

 

For those who are wondering, I didn’t actually have a historical ship in mind when I made this. Just any old early England/Ireland-to New World voyage where everybody died because of the cold/the Yetis/Odin cultists. Not like that narrows it down any.

 

 

 

Good luck, you brave writer folk!

 

END TRANSMISSION.

 

5 comments on “Friday Fictioneers: “Old, Familiar World”

  1. Alice Audrey says:

    I live in Montana. From where I stand it still isn’t settled and civilized. That’s generations of waiting.

    Mine is here: http://www.aliceaudrey.com/?p=13016

  2. Melanie says:

    So much time passes in this story, yet even with so few words, it’s effortless.

  3. A sad tale regarding his parents. Yet, I am glad he wouldn’t leave his own family.

  4. gahlearner says:

    How cruel to be left behind like this. Great story.

  5. micklively says:

    Waiting for civilization in the New World has proven problematic. 😉
    Good piece.

Leave a Reply

